Speshletter #2 - Coolman Asia 🌏

I can’t believe it’s already been a month since the last Speshletter. So much can happen in a month. Millions of houseflies were born into existence, lived a glorious 28-day life of buzzing around aimlessly, and died. It’s beautiful, really.

You should pat yourself on the back for lasting longer than those houseflies, too. Every month you stick out your challenges and push through occasional bad vibes is another month’s worth of millions of houseflies that perished. I was about to do the math to see how many houseflies I’ve outlasted in my 27 years of being alive, but when I googled how many flies there are in the world, it said there are 17 million flies for each person. And so, my little experiment immediately got too complicated for me to continue. I’m going to assume that I’ve outlasted 500 billion houseflies (there’s no math behind that, it just sounds awesome)

This past month, my massive exhibition “Dumb Dreams and Messy Hands” debuted at the largest art mall in China, the Shanghai K11 Art Mall. It broke all previous records, with over 1,500 people visiting the show's opening night. I was able to fly over there (my first time in Shanghai!) and give personal tours to all the press, the VIP guests, and of course… all of YOU!

I had an absolute blast getting to meet fans of my work on the other side of the world. I always knew my animations were very globally known, but it doesn’t truly hit me until I’m in a place as foreign as Shanghai and I have a line of beautiful smiling faces eager to meet and tell me how much my videos mean to them. Thank you all for sharing your stories with me. It was tough not to cry sometimes. You can watch some coverage of the opening night here!

It was also insane to see my characters come to life in 3D form. This is the first time Spesh, Iggy, Blue Dude, and others have been beautifully sculpted into large-scale figures. Seeing people pose and take selfies with them filled me with so much joy.

There will be a lot happening with all things Coolman in Asia these coming months. I look forward to all of it. You really forget how big the world is until you visit a place as big and different as China. However, the enthusiasm and love from everyone I met over there inspired me so much.

Lastly, in the previous newsletter, I mentioned that anybody can respond to the email with their very own Spesh Request. This week, I selected the following response from Tiffany!

“ Hi Coolman Coffeedan

I just happen to be wearing my UR SPECIAL hoodie while reading this lol.

I would love to see Spesh reading gossip while drinking tea.

Thank you for your work and being here, you may think people don’t notice but I notice and love your work. I can’t tell you how many times I sing tiny umbrella or burnt tamales (I literally did burn my tamales once) “

Tiffany, thanks for the kind words. I’m stoked you’re rocking your UR SPECIAL hoodie! Behold, your Gossip Tea-Sippin’ Spesh:

Hope you have a beautiful end to your week. See you in the next one!

Oh, I almost forgot…

💕✨UR SPECIAL âś¨đź’•

With love,
Coolman (aka Danny Casale)

P.S. wanna be like Tiffany and get your very own Spesh Request? just reply to this email with something you’d like me to draw! i’ll feature it in the next newsletter along with your name 💕